Biography of THE HONORABLE JONATHAN DISMANG ARKANSAS STATE SENATOR



CO-CHAIR JOINT BUDGET COMMITTEE SENATE DISTRICT 18

Senator Jonathan Dismang of Searcy has served in the Arkansas Legislature since 2009, after his election to the House of Representatives. After one term in the House he was elected to the Senate in 2010. Senator Dismang represents Senate District 18, which comprises White County and parts of Faulkner and Cleburne Counties.

Senator Dismang is Senate co-chair of the Joint Budget Committee and vice chair of the Senate Transportation, Technology and Legislative Affairs Committee. He is a member of the Senate Revenue and Taxation Committee, the Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development, Joint Performance Review and Arkansas Legislative Council. He belongs to the Senate Rules, Resolutions and Memorials Committee and the Legislative Facilities Committee.

During the 94th General Assembly, Senator Dismang sponsored legislation that requires counties to do a reappraisal on property every four years. This legislation prevents huge tax increases. He was the lead Senate sponsor of legislation reducing the Arkansas income tax.

Senator Dismang also sponsored legislation to amend the duties of the Arkansas Ethics Commission, to amend the Arkansas renewable Energy Development Act of 2001 and to exempt certain non-profit agricultural membership organizations from insurance regulation.

In 2021 Senator Dismang co-sponsored Act 154 to exempt unemployment benefits from state income tax for years 2020 and 2021. He also cosponsored legislation that amends laws governing landlord and tenants, campaign finance reporting, the Fair Mortgage Lending Act and the Arkansas Securities Act.

Senator Dismang was elected by his colleagues in the Senate to be President Pro Tempore during the 89th General Assembly after the resignation of the previous President Pro Tempore. He was then elected President Pro Tempore for the 90th and 91st General Assemblies. Only two other senators in the modern era have been elected to two consecutive terms as President Pro Tempore, Senator William Norrell in 1933 and 1935 and Senator Bart Hester in 2023 and 2025.

Senator Dismang's leadership abilities were recognized quickly. After his election to the legislature in 2008 he was elected vice chairman of the House Freshman Caucus. The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette named him one of the Top Six Freshman to Watch during the 87th General Assembly and the Three Rivers Edition of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette named him as one of Twenty to Watch.

After his election to the Senate he was named Legislator of the Year by the Arkansas Realtors Association.

He received the Business Matters Leadership Award from the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce/Associated Industries of Arkansas. In 2014, he was named one of "12 State Lawmakers to Watch" by Governing magazine, a national publication that focuses on state and local government.

In 2015 Senator Dismang was included by Arkansas Business in its "40 Under 40" list of influential, young Arkansans.

Senator Dismang is owner and president of Dismang Consulting Services, LLC, where he provides financial oversight services with an emphasis in real estate.

He has been active in numerous civic organizations, including the White County 4-H Foundation, the Rose Bud East Advisory Council, the Beebe Chamber of Commerce, the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce, the

Searcy Regional Chamber of Commerce, the Searcy Young Professionals Network and the Harding University Presidents Council. He is a member of the board of directors for the Arkansas Children's Advocacy Centers and is a past chairman of the Arkansas National Association of Royalty Owners.

A native of Maynard, Arkansas, in Randolph County, Senator Dismang graduated with honors from Beebe High School in 1997. He completed his degrees in accounting and economics at Harding University with cum laude distinction.

Senator Dismang has worked in public accounting and as Chief Financial Officer with Whitwell & Ryles Real Estate Investments, LLC, of North Little Rock.

He is married to the former Mandy Staggs and they have two sons. They are members of the Church of Christ.